Welcome NC Dads!

This is my first Blog entry. I recently read that 50,000 (or so) begin a new blog every day.  Even if 7,000 of them are spam, that still leaves a large number. Yes, I know that I am not special.  No spam here.  I’m just anxious to find the answers to questions, meet interesting people and share ideas, funny, serious or otherwise. 

I moved to North Carolina in July 2010.  It was an arduous trip that included my wife, 2 boys (age 2, age 6 months) my dog, and everything I owned in the world, except my house, which I’ve been forced to rent out (instead of unload) because of the economy.

Moving away from family and friends was a difficult decision, especially with two young kids in tow. I also wanted to mention that I’ve lived in Florida since age five. Although I’ve traveled a lot, I hadn’t called anywhere else “Home.”  

Even though we were extremely happy in Florida, my wife received an opportunity that we couldn’t pass up. We felt ready for new challenges in a place with a nice climate and friendly people.

So, the perspective I would like to offer in this blog is that of a new father and resident to North Carolina. Since I am with my kids the majority of my time, I discover new expressions on my sons’ faces and what they are capable of.  I am also learning about new places and new activities to promote child development and to let them burn off energy, play outside, draw, paint and pretend, in lieu of watching too much TV.

We all have very different experiences as fathers. I am no expert in the area, but I’d like these to be social, educational and fun experiences so that we can share and learn from each other and our kids.  (Tasteful) jokes are encouraged (e-mail me the distasteful). 

There are many blogs about being a stay at home dad, but this one will be different in many ways. First, although I take my job very seriously, I don’t get overly negative or emotional about my situation. Some of the blogs I’ve read describing what it’s like to be a stay at home dad, have included some irrational and emotional outpours. For example, one blogger said, “I thought we dropped the S in SAHD! We are not SAHD, We are happy strong fathers.)  Quit your whining buddy!

I found another blog based out of Iowa where I learned that there are 1,000,000 stay at home Dads in the U.S. and growing.  I want my blog to help dads know that they are not alone in caring for the kids, but at the same time, I want us to feel that there is an outlet and a place to escape the boredom that is the internet, find valued answers and give important advice and to be able to discuss this with anyone in a similar situation–even though our lives are very different. 

I had mixed feelings about being a man who primarily raises the kids. There is a perception of emasculation from our friends who are stuck in jobs they don’t care about for most of their adult lives. I’ve been called, “Mr. Mom,” several times. Really? That is so 80’s, guess that’s better than Mrs. Doubtfire.  

I feel fortunate to have been given the choice to either stay at home with the kids or work outside the home, because for many it is a necessity. I could have easily taken a job and sent the kids to daycare, but perhaps that would be too easy; or too expensive as financially it just makes sense to stay home with the boys while my wife works.  When she and I dated, I told her that I would follow her anywhere as she had a purpose in her career while I was a Claims Adjuster.  No kid has ever said, when I grow up I want to work in some evil empire that is the insurance industry.  There’s my tangent, I’ll keep my opinions on the subject to a minimum.

So, I appreciate your readership and would welcome your contributions. As many Dads who are taking a large role in raising their children, I don’t have much time during the week to talk to people my own age. It is especially difficult, because I am living in a new city. So, my expectations are low–

Well, if my first entry didn’t turn you off, then I want to tell you about some ideas that I had. I live in Greenville and Winterville is close by, together, they are growing. From 1990 to 2000, this area grew by 35%.

 We’ve only been here a short time, but we’ve done a lot locally and went as far a Raleigh, Greensboro, Franklin, Ashville, Ashboro, Boone and of course Sugar and Beech Mountains. If anyone is interested (and reading out there), then I would like you to give any insight available for Dads in NC like me.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Welcome NC Dads!

  1. Jodi says:

    Awesome idea. SAHD are a minority by far and this type of reach-out is beneficial on so many levels! I can say that I’m impressed. I’m a working mom with not options of staying home at this time, nor does the hubby. If you can do it, by all means, do it. Loving attentive parents who can spend that kind of time with thier children are becoming a thing of the past. I wish you the best!

  2. Robyn says:

    You have the best job in the world!

  3. Whitney says:

    I’m so proud of you Ken. A.J. and Andy are so lucky to have such wonderful parents. Keep up the exceptional work!!!!

  4. Chris says:

    Good read. Post often. Best, C

  5. Soly says:

    This was a great read!! I think its awesome you stay at home with the kids and are happy doing it! Keep up the great job -but i’m sure you don’t really think of it as job, like that old claims adjuster job!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

