Finally!

 I now have something for those with kids of any age.  For those who grew up in the 80’s, 90’s or just grew up (or didn’t), the awkward teen, the Beiber tween or the 44-year old stay-at-home son, click the link below but remember this is for your kids.  When I was growing up, my Father owned video games in bars and bowling alleys and eventually had an arcade or 2.  Lots of fun was had by all, particularly me. 

I was able to go to my Dad’s game room and go to work with him on his route of collecting quarters and tokens and play while he did so. 

People would put Chuck E. Cheese, Showbiz, pay toll tokens (whatever they could find to save a quarter) into my Dad’s machines and he would filter them out so that I could go with my friends to play Skee Ball (among other games) for hours on end.  My Dad was cool despite being so uncool. 

I was able to go to video game auctions and conventions with him.  There were more than a few times where I would come home to video games in the garage or on the porch.  He even had an endless supply of Yoo-Hoo chocolate drinks in the house because people would not buy it from his vending machines.  Around that time, I had 2 functioning Skee Ball games in the garage.  My friends and I were the only ones that thought so, but it was awesome. 

Then one day, my four friends and I went on a trek down the railroad tracks to see a dead body.  Wait a minute, wrong story.

Because of all that, I looked forward to adulthood. 

Imagine my dismay when I ended up waiting tables for 8 years and from there I went into insurance for 12 years (Nobody ever says they want to be a yes man when they grow up). 

Without my current career I don’t know how I could get closer to a cool job like that (Not that my Father thought he had a cool job).

For Ken Sr.  Happy Father’s Day!!

http://www.chuckecheese.com/chuck-e-games/games/skeeball.php?utm_source=BH&utm_medium=email&utm_campaign=060211&link=image

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

