Thanks and Giving

 

AJ & Andy

I am always looking for new things to do, especially new places to take my kids.  As you may or may not know, I like to write about them.  Now with the Holidays approaching, I rediscover the shops that we already love. 

The Fall has treated us well.  The scenery around town makes us love it here.  Even after Hurricane Irene, the remaining gargantuan trees look amazing and the cooler weather at the many parks we frequent makes for happy kids.  

One of our favorite places to take the kids is a toy store I’ve written about a few times, Round Table Toys.  They do a great internet business and their only retail store is here in Greenville.  It is very unique in that most of their toys are not as common and focus more on education and creativity.  When we visit, my kids are always encouraged to play with the toys there.  The following picture is for an arts and crafts workshop where kids were able to make turkeys out of apples. 

Apple Turkey Day!

 

 

 

 

 

Plasmacars

In our recent trip to Florida, I bought the Plasmacar, for my boys, my three nephews and my niece.  The idea was that they would all be able to ride them together.  They all seemed to love their car. Plus, the appeal for me is that regardless of age (my kids’ and nephews’ and niece’s ages range from 1-12 years old) all 6 of them had a blast riding around like a mini biker gang (minus the bikes…and the bikers).  I encourage you to look up the Plasmacar and http://www.roundtabletoys.com/ .  Their events calendar has brought us there several times in the past few months.  We attended a BMX exhibition, several sales and toy demonstrations.  I was not able to attend but there was an adult event where kids were not allowed. At this event, they actually served drinks, allowing adults to shop for their kids without the interruption of the kids we love so much.   They really raised the bar with that, by becoming a bar temporarily!

Ssssshhhhh! you're in a book store!

Another store that we frequent is Barnes & Noble.  Although large bookstores have been the demise of the smaller, mom and pop stores, I feel like Barnes & Noble offer us a good variety of products at a reasonable price. My kids love books but they love to not listen to me in this store even more.  This is another establishment that has an abundance of educational toys, as well as a kids section for books.  Their website www.barnesandnoble.com gives a calendar of events also which includes story times and has a kids club that offers discounts that we have benefited from.  Recently, our local store has added a Lego table for the kids to play at, which like their Thomas the Train Table, gives Dad the chance to look around and actually shop while the kids have fun. 

Andy at the new Lego table

 

 

I have yet to set foot in Wal-Mart or the local mall for Holiday shopping and love the consignment shops like Once Upon A Child, Craigslist (minus the creeps), eBay (minus the scams) and Target.  I am always on the lookout for local stores as I do try to find new and exciting things for the kids. Surely you have a favorite in your neck of the woods. Please share with NCDads. Enjoy the beginning of your holidays.  Have a Happy Thanksgiving!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Thanks and Giving

  1. small cars says:

    I really appreciate your post and you explain each and every point very well.Thanks for sharing this information.And I’ll love to read your next post too.

    • ncdads says:

      Thank you for the feedback, in reading through your website, I am in total agreement. Although I drive a minivan, I use every square inch of it with 2 kids and one on the way and it’s more friendly to our environment than my last mini-van. I am a huge proponent of what you’re writing on and I know there is a wealth of information to educate and there are many looking for more information. I look forward to your next article and a place on your site to hopefully comment.

  2. Soly says:

    I may not always comment but I love reading your blog. Give it a year and I may get one of those plasmacars for mikes girls…. Like they don’t have enough toys!!!

Leave a Reply

