In Loving Memory of Mom

Mom

Mom

This Saturday is the Walk to Defeat ALS.  My family and I will walk with hundreds of others in an effort to raise money and awareness for ALS.  ALS or Lou Gehrig’s Disease took my Mother’s life in 1989.  My Mother was a great woman.  She was always happy and positive in any given situation and I credit my demeanor to her and I hope to pass on that love to my kids.  I talk to my kids about their Grandmother but not as often as I should.  Fortunately, this Walk brings up quite a few memories of Mom that I can share with my boys.  That and house cleaning leads me to find family pictures to share with them.

My Wife discovered the Walk in Florida about 9 years ago and we have been doing it each year since.  She also gets her positive attitude and giving spirit from her Mother who actually does the Walk in Milwaukee because of my Mother, someone she’s never met and has no connection to ALS other than my family.  I am in awe of the way they both show empathy and selflessness in everything they do, especially when it comes to family.  I wrote something on the subject last year.

http://ncdads.org/2013/10/14/like-mother-like-daughter/

Walk day, 4/12/2014, is my Wife’s birthday.  We have a fun day planned for her starting with the Walk to Defeat ALS.  The weather has been great and after the coldest Winter I can remember in 30 years, we are excited to get back into doing things outside without needing to dress the kids for sledding.

If you can, please donate  http://web.alsa.org/site/TR/Walks/NorthCarolina?px=2953745&pg=personal&fr_id=9723 or to ALS.org directly.  I was 14 years old when my Mom passed away.  While there is no cure today, there is research that is being done that gets us closer to a cure and innovative ways of how to care for those battling the disease and ways to make life easier at a time when ALS makes life so hard.

Thank you

For reading and for your patience, as it has been a few months since my last post.

Special Thanks

To Garrett Bissonnette for the amazing artwork, he is responsible for the new header and logo of the site.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

